NYC Love.

Ah, such a great weekend…why did it have to end??? I had a lovely three day weekend that started off on Friday. One of my good friends came to visit and we started off the visit with lunch at a Thai restaurant near my house. I have really only had Thai once or twice before, but after this meal I will definitely be going back more often. I don’t remember what the dish was called but it contained coconut milk, shrimp, avocado, butternut squash, and peanuts. It was spicy, yet creamy and smooth at the same time. After lunch we headed into the city to meet up with one of our other friends from college. We started off the weekend with some drinks outside at a bar. Such a perfect autumn day to sit outside and just catch up.

Photo 2

After relaxing for the afternoon, we headed back and got ready for dinner. We met up with some more friends and ate a delicious Italian restaurant on the Upper Westside. The food was to die for. My friend Jess and I split a salad and a pasta dish so we could experience both. The salad was a mix of greens topped with roasted butternut squash, mushrooms, and pecans with a champagne vinaigrette dressing. The pasta was pumpkin ravioli, holy yum 🙂 After dinner we headed to a roof top bar that offered some great views of the city. It really was great night!

Photo 1

The next day we got up and did some exercising in Central Park. I’m always amazed at the oasis the park offers, it really does make you feel like you are out of the city. After exploring it was time for some brunch. After a few minor setbacks, we finally ended up at a place called SaraBeth’s, which again had amazing food. I went with the Garden Omelet and Pumpkin muffin and pretty much inhaled both.

Photo 3

After brunch we said our good-byes to the city and headed back to Jersey for the evening. The evening was spent exploring Trader Joe’s (where I stocked up on Pumpkin flavored foods), grabbing desserts to go at both Carlo’s Bakery and Crumbs, and then a laid back dinner at a pizzeria. Such a foodie night 🙂

Sunday morning started off with a walk around town, coffee from Starbucks, followed by some strolling through a street festival. Then it was time to say good-bye to my guest and lounge/do errands the rest of the day. I was exhausted, but I enjoyed every minute of the weekend. I love with I get to spend time with my friends, and I wish I could have a weekend do-over 🙂 Ahh, until next time….

How was your weekend?

One thought on “NYC Love.

COMMENT HERE

