Rock Climbing and SUP

Man do I love the weekends. This weekend was especially awesome, which made Monday so much more depressing. The weekend started off Friday with Josh coming to visit after work. I tried out a new pasta recipe for dinner which turned out fantastic, so I will definitely be sharing it this week! Then we just hung out and called it an early night in preparation for adventure number one on Saturday, Rock Climbing!

Saturday morning we woke up early to head up to the Shawangunks, or the Gunks.

Photo 1

We properly fueled for the trip by stopping at Dunkin Donuts first and I grabbed a Pumpkin Coffee and Pumpkin Donut ( I mean I was going to need the calories for climbing 🙂

Photo 2

We arrived at the Gunks around 10 and ended up staying til about 4pm. The weather was absolutely perfect and we really could not have asked for a nicer day.

IMG_2981

We ended up doing three climbs…

1) Short Job, 5.4.

IMG_2978

This one was probably my favorite of the day. Josh led the route and I seconded. The views at the top were definitely worth the climb. I love repelling down the cliff and taking in the views.

Photo 4

2) No Picnic, 5.5

IMG_2982

This one I did on a top rope that Josh set up. I made it about 3/4 of the cliff before my arms just weren’t having it anymore and I had to have Josh lower me down. This one will be my first attempt on the next Gunks trip so I can crush it!

IMG_2987

3) Roddey, 5.3

IMG_2989

This one seemed a lot harder than a 5.3. Even Josh struggled with it some and he is pretty advanced climber. However, I persevered and I made it to the top! Definitely a great feeling to get through this climb.

Photo 3

After calling it a day we headed home and spent the evening relaxing. I think I fell asleep on the couch at like 9pm haha.

Adventure day #2 was for Sunday. We woke up early and headed down to Paddle Out to do some Stand Up Paddle Boarding. This was my first time trying it, and I am in LOVE! Definitely wish there was an area closer to where I live where I could rent one of these because I would be out there all the time. Highly recommend that everyone try SUP.

After an hour out on the water, we stopped for lunch at Surf Taco. I got the standard Surf Taco, which is a breaded fish fillet topped with cabbage, lime, tomatoes, and a tangy sauce. So good! This was our fuel for the next portion of the day, Sea Glass hunting. Sea glass is glass that is found on some beaches that has been tumbled and smoothed by the water. It really is an addicting habit to try and spot the different colors in the sand. I would say we are starting to get a fairly nice collection 🙂

Photo 5

The afternoon also included a trip to my favorite frozen yogurt place. I got a nice dish of tart and peach fro-yo topped with some fresh fruit and sprinkles. Hit the spot after a long day on the beach.

The rest of the day involved some relaxing and an evening stroll followed by dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings. I had never been to the restaurant before, but Josh was craving wings so we headed out. This is definitely the place to go it you like football, I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many TV screens in one place. The restaurant had a good vibe and the food was pretty tasty too. I got the naked chicken with a chipolte bbq seasoning and a side of fries. This was a great way to end the weekend.

Weekends are always so much fun and I can’t wait until the next adventure!

IMG_2979

How was your weekend?

 

COMMENT HERE

