Farmer’s Market.

Today I had the day off from work so I was able to visit the downtown farmer’s market for the first time this year. The market in my town is only open on Thursdays from 12-6pm and I usually don’t get home til after 6 so today I was quite excited. Farmer’s markets are great because you then know where your produce is coming from and you are supporting the local economy.

Today I was first sucked into a stand selling pesto and hummus. The owner called me over to try the pesto, and I’m not one to pass up a taste test 🙂 The one that I tried was pesto made with arugula and lemon. It had the typical pesto taste with a lightness too it added by the lemon. I was hooked at first taste so I had to buy a container. The producers told me it can be stored in the freezer for up to 2 months and then you just remove a portion when you want to use it. I can’t wait to try it out over some whole wheat pasta.

photo-7

As I was purchasing the pesto I saw that the same stand also had a variety of hummus. The top flavor on the list was Sweet Potato Hummus. I didn’t even have to try it, anything that has sweet potatoes in it I bet that I will love. Can’t wait to try this with some pita chips.

photo-8

The final purchase of the day was from a bakery that uses all organic and local ingredients for their products. I could tell that for this booth you have to get there early, because I was there only 10 minutes after it opened and there was already a line for the bakery booth. I guess that means all the baked goods are delicious, which I now know is the truth! I purchased a Carrot Muffin for breakfast tomorrow and an Oat Berry Bar that I devoured as soon as I got home. I mean it’s okay to solely have dessert for lunch occasionally in your life. I was enjoying my off day and decided to treat myself. Let me tell you it was worth EVERY bite. Mmmm… hopefully I can get back before the season is over.

Typic-4

What is your favorite thing about Farmer’s Markets?

One thought on “Farmer’s Market.

  1. Pingback: Avocado Sandwich | iAManRD

COMMENT HERE

