Did someone say Breakfast?

Honestly, breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. It’s what gives me motivation to get out of bed in the morning. haha. I know that a lot of people tend to skip or overlook breakfast because they aren’t morning people, are in a hurry, or can’t stand the thought of eating that early. But what people don’t know is that breakfast really is the most important meal of the day, it’s what gets your day going! Here are just a few reasons why you shouldn’t skip out on breakfast:

– It “breaks the fast” between dinner and lunch. This means it gets your metabolism going and your body working! Ironically if you “skip” breakfast, your body tends to start reserving your fat stores after your next meal so you could actually end up gaining weight.

– Better productivity at work

– Mental clarity

– Leads to an healthier diet overall

– Keeps you from overeating later in the day

With reasons like this, why skip breakfast? In honor of National Nutrition Month® I encourage you to start eating breakfast, and if you already do I encourage you to try and make healthier choices. Here is a great oatmeal recipe to get you started:

Typic

Ingredients:

1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal

1 1/4 cup water

1 tbsp pecans

1 tbsp raisins

dash of cinnamon

dash of vanilla extract

1 tbsp cinnamon chocolate chips

Microwave the first two ingredients for 2 min 30 sec. Mix in the remaining ingredients and enjoy! Breakfast could not be easier to make or taste better. I think that’s why it is my favorite meal!

Now here is a quick recap of the weekend, liking up with Kate and the Good, the Bad, the Ugly:

GBU

The Good

– I got to visit Josh! This always automatically makes the weekend good 🙂

AJartmuseum

– Went indoor rock climbing and finished some good bouldering and top rope problems. Josh and I are already getting ready to plan an outdoor trip soon. Can’t wait for spring!

– I finally got an oil change and tire rotation for the car. Oh the life of being a grown-up.

The Bad

– These fries. Or Crab Fries from Chickie’s and Pete’s. They are soooo good that I want to eat soooo many of them, which is bad. I need to keep moderation in mind!

fries

The Ugly

– Josh and I went to the Art Museum on Sunday. Let’s just say we learned the hard way that this museum isn’t really our thing. Oh well, at least we can say we went!

artmuseum

Also linking up with Molly

yolomondays265x265lightpinkFINAL

How was your weekend? Enjoy any delicious meals for breakfast?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Did someone say Breakfast?

  1. I just have to tell you that your post with the delicious cranberry oatmeal recipe inspired me to eat oatmeal again for breakfast! I have been making it with cinnamon and a chopped apple…I love it! I just told my husband last night that the two things I crave are oatmeal in the morning and celery with peanut butter at lunch! So thanks, I was never really a breakfast eater before!!
    LA 🙂
    http://www.simplysmilingblog.blogspot.com

COMMENT HERE

