Low-Calorie Buffalo Bites

I don’t know about you, but I love me some buffalo sauce, specifically Franks!

photo-3

However,  buffalo sauce tends to be dumped onto foods that are higher in calories and fat like wings, chicken fingers, or dips loaded with sour cream. The buffalo sauce itself is not a high calorie food, in fact 1 tbsp has ZERO calories. However, it does pack on the sodium with 460mg per serving, so if you are trying to watch your salt intake please you in moderation.

Today I have a great recipe that involves the deliciousness of buffalo sauce, without the added calories and fat. Buffalo Tofu bites! I followed the method for cooking the tofu based on Emily’s tofu tutorial over at the DailyGarnish. The only change that I made was that I DID NOT press the tofu. I was in a rush to eat dinner, and while i thought the tofu might not get as crisp, I honestly did not see a difference. I would just make sure to purchase the extra firm tofu in order to skip the pressing step.

After the tofu was cooked, I doused it with a bit of Frank’s and there they be, Low-Calore Buffalo Bites!

buffalobites

Tonight I enjoyed them as a side dish, but they are also great in wraps and on top of salads. You can also use a different condiment if Frank’s isn’t your thing, I won’t take any offense. Tofu really takes on the flavor of whatever you season it with so be creative until you find a concoction that you like.

Tofu is a great substitute for meat and I think that so many people don’t use it because they don’t know how to cook it. But look at the label!

photo-2

Tofu really is a great food, it’s packs in only 80 calories per serving, 8g of protein, and some healthy fats! Not too shabby if you ask me. Now be adventurous and embrace the tofu!

Have you ever cooked with tofu?

Linking up with Shana for Random Wednesday

COMMENT HERE

