13.1 Miles

Marathons have always seemed so extreme, I mean seriously, people want to run 26.2 miles for fun? I just didn’t get it. Even as an athlete, I didn’t understand how people could find racing long distances fun. Growing up I was more of a team sport athlete, and played soccer, basketball, and softball. I like the comradeship, team spirit, and bonds that came with being part of a team. However, now that I have graduated from college, finding an actually team to play on, with the competitive level I want, is tough. So I turned to group exercise classes. Those were fun, and still are, but the athlete in me needs something to train for, something that has discipline and sparks motivation.  Currently I can comfortably run a 5k. I’m not fast, but I haven’t really put any real effort into training yet. So I have decided that I am going to take the plunge and not only try to improve my 5k pace, but also try to improve my distance running by starting to train for a half marathon. Right now the idea still seems a little crazy, but I like the idea of it, and I like that it is a goal that I can strive for. I found a training plan online that I am going to use as a guideline, and starting Monday I’m taking off. Here’s to hoping I have the determination to achieve it.

Any Half-Marathon training advice??

Linking up here and here for Friday Fitness!

running3

4 thoughts on “13.1 Miles

  1. I have ran 4 half marathons. They are very very fun! When I started my current job training for long distances is very tough but I hope to run one again soon (ideally very soon). It’s a great sense of personal accomplishment once you hit a new high distance. Then another. Then another. That’s what I loved the most.
    What I hate – my knees. They hate me and get injured very quickly. Even more so now

    I’m excited to follow along with your training plan. Maybe it’ll be inspiration for me to get there again too

    Sarah
    Anythingbetween.blogspot.com

COMMENT HERE

