Oatmeal Love

I can eat oatmeal everyday for breakfast, and most of the time I do. There is just something about a hot bowl of cereal in the morning that starts the day off right. Plus there are numerous health benefits associated with oatmeal. Oatmeal is a cholesterol-free food, low in both saturated and total fat. Plus, studies have shown that eating oatmeal as part of a daily diet can help reduce LDL or “bad” cholesterol, and in addition eating about 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal a day can may help reduce your chance of heart disease, which you may remember is the number one killer in America. Finally oatmeal is a whole grain, and it is recommended to make at least half your grains whole every day. There you have it, numerous benefits, and guess what? It tastes good too! There are countless oatmeal toppings out there and I have one of my favorite combinations to share with you today, Cranberry Almond Spice.

Typic

Directions

– 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats

– 1 c. water

Microwave above ingredients for 2 minutes. Then add:

-1 tablespoon dried cranberries

– 1 tablespoon almonds

– 1 tablespoon white chocolate chips

– Pinch of vanilla

– Dash of pumpkin pie spice

Mix everything together, and voila! Breakfast is served!

Do you have a favorite oatmeal combination?

 

9 thoughts on “Oatmeal Love

    • Thanks, it is! I myself have not yet branched out to the savory oatmeal, but I know someone that adds an egg, onion, some cheese on top, along with a dash of salt and pepper. I think I might have to try a savory recipe soon!

  1. I just found your blog today through challenge loop, and I a excited to become a follower! I am a Health Coach at my current job, and I conduct nutrition consultations to patrons at my Health and Wellness Center. However, I feel like there is always so much more to learn about nutrition–so much that I don’t know and would like to be able to share with my clients–so I am excited to read your blog and learn more! In direct relation to this post–I think that oatmeal is one of the best breakfasts someone can eat, and I tell my clients that every day! At least I’m getting something right πŸ™‚

  2. Want to try something not quite as fast but guaranteed to be ultra-delicious? Get yourself some steel-cut oats at the bulk bin of one of the big health food stores. Then take half a cup of them and put them into a crock pot overnight with 2 cups of water. The next morning you’ll find something so deliciously mind-blowing, you might never want to back to regular oatmeal. Add the above ingredients and you’ll fall in love all over again.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    • I’ve tried steel oats on the stove top but due to time I always fall back in the microwave. I have not yet tried the crock pot method yet though so I wi have to give that a try, thanks for the tip!

  3. Hi Alissa, I tried this recipe this morning….very delicious!! One of my goals this past week was to include more oatmeal into my diet…I would like to link back to your blog (this recipe) in my post on Monday…if that’s OK with you. Thanks!
    LA πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday | iAManRD

COMMENT HERE

